JEDC Roster

{BOARD NAME}

Revised:  7/19/16

 

 

Joint Economic Development Council

 


City Appointees:

Lisa Larsen

P.O. Box 165, 66044

llarsen@lawrenceks.org

 

785.331.9162

 

City Commission Representative

 

VACANT – Josserand

 

 

10/16/12 – 10/31/15 First

(at-large position)

Melinda Henderson

1202 Almira Avenue, 66044

melin@sunflower.com

 

 

 

12/01/15 – 10/31/18 Second

(10/16/12 – 10/31/15 First)

(at-large position)

County Appointees:

Mike Gaughan

Douglas County

1100 Massachusetts, 66044

mgaughan@douglas-county.com

 

785.856.1662

 

County Commission Representative

Rebekah Gaston

rebekahgaston@gmail.com

 

 

09/23/15 – 10/31/18 First

(at-large position)

Derek Felch

Derek.felch@hilton.com

 

785.760.2071

 

09/15 – 10/31/18

 (at-large position)

Chamber Appointees:

Larry McElwain, CEO/President

Lawrence Chamber of Commerce

646 Vermont, Suite 200, 66044

lmcelwain@lawrencechamber.com

 

 

785.865.4411

 

 

Jason Edmonds

Jason@edmondsduncan.com

 

 

 

Cal Karlin, Board Chair

ckarlin@barberemerson.com

 

 

785.843.6600

 

At-large

Michael Orozco

Michael.orozco@usbank.com

 

 

785.865.0268

 

At-large

University of Kansas Appointee:

Tim Caboni

Office of Public Affairs

University of Kansas

Strong Hall, Room 230

1450 Jayhawk Blvd., 66045

Caboni@ku.edu

 

 

785.865.7100

 

University of Kansas Designee

 

Bioscience & Technology Business Center Appointee:

LaVerne Epp

2029 Becker Drive, 66047

elepp@btbcku.com

 

785.832.2110

 

Bioscience and Technology Business Center Designee

Ex-officio members:

Tom Markus City Manager

City of Lawrence

P.O. Box 708, 66044

tmarkus@lawrenceks.org

 

785.832.3400

 

Craig Weinaug, Administrator

Douglas County

1100 Massachusetts, 66044

weinaug@douglas-county.com

 

785.832.5268

 

Bradford Smith Interim, Administrator

City of Baldwin City

808 8th Street, 66006

bsmithbaldwincity.org

 

785.594.6427

 

Barack Matite, Interim City Manager

City of Eudora

4 E. 7th Street, 66025

bmatite@cityofeudoraks.gov

 

785.542.2153

 

Bonnie Lowe, COO

Lawrence Chamber of Commerce

646 Vermont St., Suite 200, 66044

blowe@lawrencechamber.com

 

785.865.4411

 

 

CITY LIAISON:      Diane Stoddard, Assistant City Manager

                             Phone:  832.3400

                             Email:  dstoddard@lawrenceks.org

 

MEMBERS:   Twelve members comprising of the following:  President/CEO of Lawrence Chamber, Chair of Lawrence Chamber, City Commissioner, County Commissioner, University of Kansas designee, Executive Chair or designee of the Bioscience and Technology Business Center, two representatives from the business community appointed by the Chamber President, two community members appointed by the City Commission, and two community members appointed by the County Commission.

TERMS:          Three year terms, except when appointed to fill an unexpired term. Members may serve two consecutive full terms.

MEETINGS:   As needed, but not less than on a quarterly basis.

 

 

FUNCTION:

Established by Joint Ordinance No. 8719/Resolution No. 12-34, the purpose of the JEDC is to provide general oversight and vision of the economic development efforts to attract and to retain jobs in Lawrence and Douglas County, Kansas.  The duties of the JEDC shall include the approval of budget requests to the Chamber Board, the City Commission, and the County Commission.  The JEDC shall also recommend economic development policies and initiatives to the Chamber Board, the City Commission, and the County Commission as the JEDC determines appropriate.