Outdoor Aquatic Center to open; summer schedule to begin

Natalie WardCity, Parks & Recreation

Lawrence Parks and Recreation Department announces the opening of the Outdoor Aquatic Center for the summer season.

The Outdoor Aquatic Center, 727 Kentucky St., will be open to the public Saturday, May 26, through Monday, Sept. 3.

Daily admission fees beginning Saturday, May 26, at all aquatic facilities are:
$4 – youth three years-old to 17 years-old and senior adults 60 years-old and older
$5 -adults 18 years-old to 59 years-old

There is no charge for those two years-old and under with an adult paid admission. Limit three children per paying adult.

The Outdoor Aquatic Center’s hours are as follows:

Registration Hours – Daily: 1-6 p.m.

Public Swimming – May 27-Aug. 18
Daily: 1-8 p.m.

Except for the following:
Wednesday, July 4: 1-6 p.m.

Sunday, Aug. 19 – Monday, Sept. 3, public swimming hours:
Sunday, Aug. 19: 1-6 p.m.
Monday-Friday, Aug. 20-24: 4-8 p.m.
Saturday, Aug. 25: 1-8 p.m.
Sunday, Aug. 26: 1-6 p.m.
Monday-Friday, Aug. 27-31: 4-8 p.m.
Saturday, Sept. 1: 1-8 p.m.
Sunday, Sept 2: 1-6 p.m.
Monday, Sept. 3: 1-8 p.m.

Morning Lap Swim – Monday, June 4-Saturday, Aug. 18
Monday-Saturday: 10 a.m.-12:45 p.m.

Monday, Aug. 20 – Saturday, Sept. 1 – Lap Swimming
Monday-Friday, Aug. 20-24: 7:30 a.m.-12:45 p.m.
Saturday, Aug. 25: 9 a.m. – 12:45 p.m.
Monday-Friday, Aug. 27-31: 7:30 a.m.-12:45 p.m.
Saturday, Sept. 1: 9 a.m. – 12:45 p.m.

The summer season will end with the annual Pooch Plunge, which will be held 4-7 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 4, at the Outdoor Aquatic Center. To register, please visit: http://lprd.org/activity?n=311142. Cost is $5 per dog.

The South Park Wading Pool will open Monday, June 4 with the hours of 1:30-7 p.m. Monday through Friday and Saturdays, 1-6 p.m.  Sundays the facility will be closed.  Morning reservations, which are charged a fee, are accepted for day care and private parties.  More information is found online at: www.lprd.org/aquatics/spwp.

The Indoor Aquatic Center will also switch to its summer hours on Saturday, May 26. The summer hours will be followed through Sunday, July 29, except for Wednesday, July 4, when the facility will be open from 1-6 p.m.

The summer hours are:

Registration Hours – Monday-Friday: 8 a.m.-5 p.m.

Lap Swimming
Monday-Friday: 5:15 a.m.-8 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m.-8 p.m.
Sunday: 1-6 p.m.

Waterslide and Diving Area
Monday-Saturday: 1-7:45 p.m.
Sunday: 1-5:45 p.m.

Warm Water Workouts
Monday-Friday: noon-1 p.m.

Zero-Depth and Children’s Area
Monday-Saturday: 1-8 p.m.
Sunday: 1-6 p.m.

The Indoor Aquatic Center will be closed Monday, July 30 -Monday, Sept. 3 for the annual maintenance shutdown.

For more information, contact Lori Madaus, aquatics supervisor, (785) 832-7946.