Douglas County Food Policy Council

Kevin Powell

Established by joint City Ordinance No. 8948/County Resolution No. 13-32, the Douglas County Food Policy Council (DCFPC) is a joint city/county advisory body whose goal is to identify the benefits, challenges and opportunities for a successful, sustainable local food system in Douglas County.

The DCFPC has 23 members that represent a wide variety of stakeholders in our local food system, from agricultural producers to grocery store owners to chefs. The DCFPC serves as a forum for discussion and coordination for community-wide efforts to improve the Douglas County community’s access to local food supply and provide recommendations to elected officials on food-related policy issues. Only the City of Lawrence Appointees are show below on the roster tab.

The DCFPC meets the third Monday of the month, 6:30 – 8:30 p.m. and locations vary. For agendas, minutes, a member roster, and relevant reports, visit:

Bylaws – updated April 2014