The Citizen Advisory Committee (CAC) is a focused group of stakeholders who serve as a constructive sounding board for the East Ninth project for the Design Team and City staff. The composition of the CAC was determined by a group of City officials with input from the Lawrence Arts Center and the East Lawrence Neighborhood Association before being approved by the City Commission. In addition to “at-large” appointments by the Mayor, stakeholder groups identified by the City of Lawrence designated representatives to serve on the Citizens Advisory Committee to collectively represent a diverse set of perspectives. The role of the Citizen Advisory Committee is, on behalf of their constituents, to provide the Design Team feedback for proposed design concepts on a regular basis.

Meeting Notes

Advisory Committee

View the advisory committee diagram

City Commission Representative

Mike Amyx, Chair mikeamyx515@hotmail.com 

East Lawrence Neighborhood (ELNA) Representatives:

Phil Collison, phil@collison.com

Dave Loewenstein, dloewenstein@hotmail.com

John Sebelius, johnsebelius@gmail.com

City-at-large Representatives:

Burdett Loomis, bloomis@ku.edu

Rev. Verdell Taylor, pastort77@aol.com

Margene Swarts, mswarts13@gmail.com

Downtown Lawrence, Inc. Representative:

Emily Peterson, emily@merchantsonmass.com

Warehouse Arts District Area Representative:

Tom Larkin, tlarkin@flinthillsholdings.com

Lawrence Arts Center Representatives:

Tom Carmody, tcarmody@sunflower.com

Ben Ahlvers, ben@lawrenceartscenter.org

Business Representatives:

Marcia Hill, marciahill0815@gmail.com 

Will Ogle, gl_wll@yahoo.com

Lawrence Cultural Arts Commission Representative:

Katherine Simmons, ksimmons@lawrenceks.org

LiveWell Lawrence Healthy Built Environment Workgroup Representative:

Tim Herndon, timaherndon@att.net

Design Team Contacts:

Josh Shelton, jshelton@eldoradoarchitects.com, (816)-474-3838

City Staff Contacts:

Porter Arneill, Director of Arts & Culture,  parneill@lawrenceks.org, 785-832-3402

David Cronin, City Engineer,  dcronin@lawrenceks.org

Chuck Soules, Director of Public Works,  csoules@lawrenceks.org