Property owners in the City of Lawrence pay property taxes each year. Property taxes include taxes for four government units: Douglas County, the State of Kansas, Unified School District #497, and the City of Lawrence. Each unit of government determines its own tax rate depending on needs.

Property tax rates are based on mills and are assessed through a mill levy. One mill is equivalent to one dollar for every thousand dollars of assessed property value. For 2014, most property owners within the city limits have a mill levy of 124.808 mills.

City of Lawrence29.534
Douglas County35.769
State of Kansas1.500
USD #497 58.005

* The mill levies provided by the 2013 Douglas County Tax Levy Sheet for 2014.

Estimate Property Taxes

To calculate your estimated property tax bill, you need to know the approximate appraised value of your property. The total value of the house is then multiplied by 11.5% for residential property, or 25% for commercial/industrial property, to determine the assessed property value.

Therefore, a house appraised at $100,000 would have an assessed value of $11,500 ($100,000 X 11.5%). The City’s portion of the property tax on this house for 2014 would be $339.64 ($11,500/1,000 X 29.534).