Mayor's Excellence in Education Award

For educators – Spring 2008

What is it?

Students, families and colleagues have the opportunity to recognize Lawrence educators who demonstrate excellence in education, leadership and community involvement.

The award demonstrates the connection between successful communities, thriving students and committed educators. Individuals making a nomination are asked to tell the Mayor why the educator is being nominated and to describe the educator’s involvement in community organizations and activities.

Educators serving pre-schools or elementary schools, junior high schools and high schools may be nominated. Nomination forms are available below.

Nomination deadline: Midnight, Monday, March 10, 2008.

Past Recipients

  • April 2007
    • Judith Galas
      Bishop Seabury Academy
    • Pam Shanks
      Raintree Montessori
    • Ron Lang
      Lawrence High School
  • June 2006
    • Paul Stuewe
      Lawrence High School
    • Sarah Carttar
      Schwegler Elementary School
  • April 2006
    • Charlotte Anderson
      Central Junior High School
    • Cindy Taylor
      Deerfield Elementary School
    • Lorna Larson
      Free State High School
  • January 2005
    • David Tenpenny
      Lawrence High School
    • Diane Karpowitz
      First Presbyterian Preschool
  • May 2004
    • Michelle Jennings
      Free State High School
    • Lois Orth-Lopes
      Cordley Elementary School
  • January 2004
    • Linda Reimond
      Lawrence Arts Center
    • Gerry Bukaty
      Sunflower Elementary School
    • Avian Bear
      Free State High School
  • May 2003
    • George "Skip" Bennett
      Southwest Junior High
    • Jane Imber
      Quail Run Elementary School
  • January 2003
    • Frank Hoffmann
      Cordley Elementary School
    • Michael Ortmann
      Lawrence High School