City of Lawrence Transportation Commission September 9, 2019 Minutes

MEMBERS PRESENT: Charlie Bryan, Steve Evans, Ron May, John Ziegelmeyer,

Carol Bowen, Nick Kuzmyak, Erin Paden, Kathryn Schartz

MEMBERS ABSENT: Donna Hultine, Nick Kuzmyak

STAFF PRESENT: Charles Soules, MSO Department

Jessica Mortinger, Planning Department Ashley Myers, Planning Department Dustin Smith, MSO Department Jacob Baldwin, MSO Department

A complete video recording of the meeting is available on the City's website at https://lawrenceks.org/boards/transportation-commission/

STUDY SESSION

Transportation/Land-Use Relationship

REGULAR MEETING

The meeting was called to order by Commissioner Evans at 6:18 p.m. in the City Commission Room, City Hall, 6 E. 6th Street.

ITEM NO. 1:

Approve Regular Meeting minutes for July 1, 2019

Moved by Commissioner Ziegelmeyer to approve the minutes, seconded by Commissioner Bryan. Motion passed 7-0.

ITEM NO. 2:

General Public Comment

Public Discussion: N/A

ITEM NO. 3:

E. 23rd Street Corridor Study

https://assets.lawrenceks.org/mpo/23Study/DraftPlan.pdf

Jessica Mortinger introduced Tresa Carter Hill and Jeff McKerrow, consultants with Olson, who presented feedback on E. 23rd Street Corridor Study.

Public Comments: Bill Schulteis, Courtney Shipley, Scott Zaremba,

ITEM NO. 4:

K-10/27th St./Wakarusa Dr. Interim Safety Improvements

Aaron Frits with the Kansas Department of Transportation provided an update on intersection improvements.

Public Comments: Debra Zehr

ITEM NO. 5:

Non-Motorized Project Prioritization

Moved by Commissioner Bryan to approve Non-Motorized Project Prioritization Policy (TC19-001) and recall Non-Motorized Project Prioritization Policy (TC19-001), seconded by Commissioner Schartz. Motion passed 7-0.

Public Comments: Tresa Hill, Courtney Shipley

ITEM NO. 6:

Lawrence Multi-Modal Transportation Commission

Moved by Commissioner Ziegelmeyer to approve Lawrence Multi-Modal Transportation Commission, seconded by Commissioner Bowen. Motion passed 7-0.

Public Comments: N/A

ITEM NO. 7:

Staff Items

Deadline to apply for next round of KDOT Transportation Alternatives
 Program Grant funds due November 1^{st.} Discussion for recommended funding project initiatives under consideration for October meeting.

ITEM NO. 8:

Commission Items

- Micromobility Subcommittee to study various RFP elements to provide recommendations to staff for an e-scooter pilot program.
- Transit items/search for new manager, preferably one with connection with transit.

• Commissioner Bowen concerned about equity issues pertaining to assisting Lawrence residents with transit.

ITEM NO. 9:

Calendar

- Next Meeting October 7, 2019
- 5p Study Session:
 - o Update on sidewalk maintenance program
- 6p Regular Meeting:
 - Kasold 22nd St to Clinton Parkway
 - o E. 19th St Haskell to O'Connell design options

ITEM NO. 10:

Adjournment

Meeting was adjourned at 8:05 pm.

Transportation Commission Study Session September 9, 2019

Name	Initials
Members	
Charlie Bryan Lawrence DGCO Health Dept. Representative	CWB
Donna Hultine University of Kansas	
Kathryn Schartz Multi-Modal Transportation / Planning Eng Rep Nick Kuzmyak	457
PTAC representative	
Carol Bowen Pedestrian Representative	09
Steve Evans Planning/Engineering Field Representative	SOF
Erin Paden Bicyclist Representative	ZP.
John Ziegelmeyer Local Business Representative	a
Ron May USD-497	129
City Staff	
David Cronin City Engineer	1)
Jessica Mortinger	. ^
Senior Transportation Plannery Managur	11/1
Ashley Myers Transportation Planner	
Charles Soules	12-
Assistant Director, MSO	US
Dustin Smith Sr. Project Engineer	
Jacob Baldwin Sr. Project Engineer	
<u> </u>	
\	

Transportation Commission Study Session
September 9, 2019
Public Sign In Sheet

Public Sign In Sneet		
Name (1) () ()	(ph) 785 - 766 - 6217	
1311 Sd ult 20)	(e-mail)	
7 2 2 2	(ph) 316-258-5026	
Quest VE	(e-mail)	
Couts Shigh	(ph) (e-mail) 785-744-8998	
Couts Shiply Debra Zehr	(ph) (e-mail) \$5 550 1325	
Trasa Mill	(ph) 842-9938	
Cont slips	(ph)	
. ,	(ph)	
	(e-mail)	
	(ph)	
	(e-mail)	
	(ph)	
	(e-mail)	
	(ph)	
	(e-mail)	
	(ph)	
	(e-mail)	
	(ph)	
	(e-mail)	
	(ph)	
	(e-mail)	
	(ph)	
	(e-mail)	

Transportation Commission Meeting September 9, 2019

Name	Initials
Members	
Charlie Bryan	C 24 TR
Lawrence DGCO Health Dept. Representative	CAUS
Donna Hultine University of Kansas	
Kathryn Schartz	165
Multi-Modal Transportation / Planning Eng Rep	121
Nick Kuzmyak	
PTAC representative	
Carol Bowen	CB
Pedestrian Representative	- 0
Steve Evans Planning/Engineering Field Representative	SOF
Erin Paden	EP
Bicyclist Representative	
John Ziegelmeyer	
Local Business Representative	-/0
Ron May USD-497	
City Staff	(.)
David Cronin	DC
City Engineer	
Jessica Mortinger) M
Senior Transportation Planner	01.
Ashley Myers	
Transportation Planner	
Charles Soules Assistant Director, MSO	(45
Dustin Smith	
Sr. Project Engineer	
Jacob Baldwin	1950
Sr. Project Engineer	

Transportation Commission Meeting
September 9, 2019
Public Sign In Sheet

Public Sign	1 In Sneet
Name	Contact Info
n 1 1 1 1 1	(ph) 785-917-9230
Pastor Jesse L. Idunter	(e-mail) Jalen 509 Chotmail, Com
	(ph) 285-218-45-91
Tanda M Hunter	(e-mail) ROZZIE doZZIE egmail·long
	(ph) 785-764-8998
Courthey Shipley	(e-mail) 5h plex was melocom
	(ph) 785.331-6186
Elaine Engthom	(e-mail) elaine, engstrom1223 agmail, com
	(ph) 4 785-830-8072
Melvin Maugu	(e-mail) melmougunequail.com
Deresa Olds	(ph) 795 865 0052
,	(e-mail) teresajolds @msn.com
Tresa calter Hahs	(ph) 913 710 2609
	(e-mail) travterhabs@olsson.wm
Let McKerrow	(ph) 8/6/560-9535
Charty michael	(e-mail) imc Kerrow@ olsson. com
Scott ZARENWY	(ph) 785-766-6600
2011 SAREMINT	(e-mail) Scott QZAROW. COM
	(ph) 785-530-1325
Debra Harmon Zehr	(e-mail) pajd zehr@ sunflower.com
P.1' 17-1	(ph) 785-550-1031 (e-mail) pdjdZehrasunflourr.com
Kilip J. Zehn	(e-mail) pdjdZehrasuntlover, Con
Luke Smith	(ph) 316-258-5026
LUME JMITH	(e-mail) luke smith 168@gmail a com
	(ph)
	(e-mail)
	(ph)
	(e-mail)