The Lawrence City Commission is the governing and legislative body of the City of Lawrence. It is comprised of five Commissioners who are elected at-large on a non-partisan basis. The City Commission passes resolutions and ordinances, establishes policies for the City, approves the budget and hires the City Manager.

Structure and Election

City Commission elections are administered by the Douglas County, Kansas Elections Office every two years. The next election for Lawrence City Commission is on November 2, 2021. Please visit their website for information specifically related to the 2021 election:

The City Commission consists of five officials elected at-large. There are three commission seats available in every election for City Commission, which means the majority of City Commission can be replaced in any given election. The two candidates receiving the most votes are elected to a four-year term. The candidate receiving the third-most votes is elected to a two-year term. After an election, the three newly elected Commissioners join the two Commissioners who are continuing to serve the four-year term they were elected to during the previous election..

The new City Commission is sworn in at the City Commission meeting on the first Tuesday in December. At that time, Commissioners vote on who will be the Mayor and Vice Mayor for that year. Commissioners vote on the Mayor and Vice Mayor every year at the meeting on the first Tuesday in December.

Commission Meetings

The City Commission holds regular meetings on the first and third Tuesday of the month, and work sessions on the second Tuesday of the month. Unless otherwise noted, meetings start at 5:45 p.m. and will be held in the City Commission Room, located on the First Floor of City Hall at 6 East 6th Street.

More information on the City Commission, including agendas for past and upcoming meetings as well as profiles of current Commissioners, is available on the City’s online CivicWeb portal. City Commission meeting agendas are posted online the Thursday before the City Commission meeting.